Aromatherapy Works

I’ve been interested in aromatherapy for years.

I’ve always loved smells. Flowers, food, perfumes, clean clothes, summer breezes, puppy breath, baby bellies… My sense of smell is probably one of my strongest senses. I can smell when one of our animals has had an accident in the house and DH will deny it up and down until I find it. Happened a lot when Luna, our 3 year old Karelian Bear Dog, was a puppy. I can smell when our neighbor is cooking dinner. I can smell when snakes are in our yard.

I was introduced to my first essential oil when I was a teenager. It was lavender. I’d never liked lavender scented things. I received a bar of lavender scented soap in a gift bag at a friend’s birthday party one year and I had to keep my window rolled down on the drive home because the smell was choking me. But, once I smelled lavender essential oil I knew what I’d smelled in the past was fake, engineered lavender smell. I bought some and some lavender incense and happily smelled them both quite often after that.

Once I entered massage school (in February 2007), I learned so much more about essential oils and I fell in love with them. I started my collection then and it’s grown larger every year. I’ve collected them from many places – Aura Cacia from Whole Foods, Amazon.com, Mountain Rose Herbs (my all-time favorite and go-to for all things herbs), and even a sweet lady from Craigslist. My collection includes over 70 essential oils, now!

But, what have I done with them? What can be done with them? So many things!

Following Rosemary Gladstar’s book A Family Herbal, I’ve made lotions, salves, hair conditioners, hair shampoos, soap, face wash, perfumes and other lovelies using my essential oils. I’ve used them in my massage practice. I’ve used them in burners to create lovely moods in my home. I’ve used them to treat burns, cuts, bug bites, sore muscles, rashes, warts, and fungal infections.

But, like many things, I’ve still got a lot to learn about Aromatherapy. Do you want to learn, too? I’d love to share what I’ve learned. I’ve got about a dozen reference books on aromatherapy and I’d love to have more confidence in my knowledge on Aromatherapy applications. And, I’d love to share what I learn with you!

Are you interested in aromatherapy? Do you have some essential oils? What are your favorites?

Love one another,

Tina

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Aromatherapy Works

  1. LFB says:

    Very interesting!! I love smells too, but wow, it seems like you have a pretty refined sense of smell going on!

    I read a book based on treating diseases and such with aromas, it was very interesting, unfortunately, we don’t have shops of essential oils here, I do light the occasional incense stick, but I think I should do it more often. We should please all senses, we love to eat, hear good music, see works of arts and feel nice textures, so why don’t we please our noses? 😀

    • Yep, I totally agree! Our sense of smell sometimes gets left by the wayside, but I’m always encouraging myself to use it. 🙂

      I do recommend Mountain Rose Herbs for essential oils if you can’t find some locally. I think they ship internationally. They have great prices on organic essential oils and they are superior quality to every other brand I’ve used!

      And don’t get me started on textures… I just love the feeling of things! Sheets, pillows, fabrics, my pets, my husband’s hair, etc… 🙂

  2. Stacey says:

    what a great post & very interesting. i can’t say i love all smells, but one of my favorite smells is vanilla. vanilla is actually a scent i’m ‘known’ for people will say hey i remember stacey she would always smell so good like ice cream, cookies, cake or whatever they think of when they smell vanilla….lol

    • Thank you!
      Oh, I adore vanilla, too! I make a nice spray using vanilla extract, clove essential oil and a drop or two of sweet orange… it’s divine!!
      How do you keep smelling like vanilla? Or are you blessed with have a natural vanilla smell?? 🙂

Leave a Reply

