A Little Late

Aunt Flo was a little late this month. And by a little, I mean 8 days late.

Which is pretty strange for me. My cycles have been pretty consistently 27 or 28 days for the past half a year. I went off birth control in January 2009 and had some pretty crazy cycles, but I was sure everything was back to normal. In the past year I haven’t had a cycle over 30 days long, and this one was 34 days.

I even bought a set of pregnancy tests.

DH and I decided just this summer that we want to for sure have kids. I’ve known for about a year that I want to have kids, but it took him a bit longer. When we met, we both swore off kids. We didn’t want to have them ever. Never. For sure.

But I was asked by a friend from massage school if I would be there at the birth of her son last August (2009) and I said yes, of course. It was an amazing experience. Eye opening. Life changing. I wanted one.

I told DH and he was confused. We’d been slowly but surely changing our minds about the baby thing, but I think seeing a birth had pushed me over the edge faster than DH could keep up with. He said he wanted to wait 3 or 4 years. I reluctantly agreed.

But, after DH saw the adorable baby boy I helped deliver, he said maybe in 2 or 3 years.

And this summer as our five year anniversary of being together and two year anniversary of our marriage approached (and his 28th birthday is coming up soon, too), he said that perhaps we could start trying next summer. I was overjoyed!

So, to have my period be late came as a surprise. We certainly were not trying for a pregnancy now, needless to say. I was stressing. I thought DH would be mad or angry or even upset at me. But he wasn’t, he was supportive and said that even if I was pregnant that he’d be excited. Whaaat?

So of course part of me then wished that I was pregnant. I’ve just been positively itching to have a baby for about six months, now. Positively, leap out of my skin, my body is taking over itching. And DH just hasn’t understood the concept of that…

Am I crazy?

But, alas. Aunt Flo arrived today and with her, two negative pregnancy tests landed in the trash can.

I will have my day, it’s just not today.

Love each other,

Tina

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A Little Late

  1. LFB says:

    Hey Tina!
    I am starting to follow your blog because I find it very interesting ๐Ÿ™‚ You have a religious vision pretty much like mine, we are around the same age and love long hair ๐Ÿ˜€

    So, what I wanted to say is that I think is fantastic how the baby feelings are developing between you two! Maybe your body is starting to elaborate by itself? like waiting for a pregnancy or such? Now, seriously, I think you could start “trying” but not like counting days, temping, saving for having best quality and standing head up 15 minutes after like paranoics lol. Just..without using protection, that still could take a long while

    Well, of course you have probably discussed this with your DH before, but, perhaps after this little scare .. who knows !

    All the best, Sally

    • Hi Sally!

      I’m tickled you find my blog interesting! And I love that we have so many things in common. You should friend me on LHC – I’m TinaDenali there.

      I have spoken with DH about just tossing the condoms and doing it when it feels right, rather than charting and planning and doing it on certain days – but that’s putting it just a bit too much into Fate’s hands for him. Perhaps I could convince him of that for the beginning of next summer, but he’s pretty set on starting the trying process next September. But, we’ll see… he may just change his mind! ๐Ÿ™‚

      -Tina

  2. ButterCup02 says:

    I’ve been enjoying your blog as well ๐Ÿ™‚

    I think we are at the same point here too LOL I am itching for a baby, hubby wants to wait a bit. If his company does well this winter we will hopefully start trying next summer! *fingers crossed*

    • It’s *so* hard, huh? I almost feel like DH just doesn’t *care* that I want a baby NOW, but I know that’s irrational… of course he cares, he’s just being the more responsible one as I let my hormones take over my thought processes…!!

      Well, hopefully we’ll both be on our way to starting a family next summer!! I’ve, of course, got my fingers crossed… and my toes. And my eyes. ๐Ÿ˜€

Leave a Reply

