A Purpose and a Picture

Lavender is one of my most favorite flowers, herbs, colors and smells. It’s intoxicating. Did you know lavender is excellent for burns? It’s one of the few essential oils that’s okay to use on the skin undiluted (though should be diluted properly for children and pregnant women)? I love lavender for this and many other reasons.

For my second post I wanted to just give a little back story and a little purpose to my blog.

I’ll start by simply copy-and-paste’ing what I put in the ‘About Me’ section. Call me lame, but I spent a good deal of time writing that, so it’s about as good as a general ‘About Me’ can get!

Lavandula Domestica is my spot on the web to ramble about my day to day life.

I am a homemaker living in the gorgeous Pacific Northwest with my dashing husband and four furbabies: two cats and two dogs.

I’m a wise woman at heart (though, how wise can one 24 year old be?) and am always learning. I love to learn about the body, ways of healing, nutrition, nature, and anthropology. I’m currently learning about crystal healing, tarot, traditional nutrition, and body work. In the future I hope to receive further education in nutrition, massage therapy, body work, herbalism, energy work, and perhaps even midwifery!

I am a trained and certified Massage Therapist, but I’m not currently working. I’ve been practicing massage for almost three years. These days, however, I’m a domestic girl and consider myself a Homemaker. It’s the best job I’ve ever had (and I’ve had almost a dozen in my mere 24 years) and I look forward to when I get promoted to SAHM (stay at home mom).

I was born an only child and my siblings were my dogs and cats. My parents are a huge part of my life, but know nothing about a huge part of my life. I love my parents with all my heart and they mean the world to me. I wish I could share with them the side of me that I’m nurturing now, but I know they just would not understand. So, for now, I will keep my spiritual path to myself.

I made this blog because I have been inspired by the many blogs I read each day. I wanted to add my take on things and share little bits of myself. I can’t promise I’ll post every day, but I can promise that each and every post I make will be filled with love and intention.

To elaborate on the above:

I’m a married woman living in Washington State. I love my husband more than life itself and we’re a very happy little family. We’ve got two cats and two dogs (which I’ll post plenty of pictures of!!) and are in the process of buying our first house. We plan on trying for babies next fall.

I’ve had lots of professions over the years with massage therapy being the main one. I went to massage school in Seattle and had my own practice for a couple years before deciding to become a housewife. I wasn’t making very much money and it was wearing me out. I love doing massage, I just haven’t quite found the right balance for it in my life. It’s very nice now that I don’t have to worry about starting any projects or anything and then get a call to come in for a massage. I get a lot more done during the day, now.

I’m very crafty. I love to make things with my hands. I sew, knit, paint, draw, cook, garden and make soap – to name a few things. I’m sure I’ll have posts about every one of those things in the near future.

As for why I consider myself a witch and a Pagan, that’s a harder thing to describe. I am an only child raised Christian (Episcopal) by my mom and dad. I had a great childhood and always had lots of pets to keep me company. My parents are wonderful, though my mom has always been a tad overbearing with religion and always forced me to go to church with them and to attend all the Youth Group functions as well. I always thought Christianity was a bit funny growing up, but it wasn’t until I went to a bible study group in high school that I decided I didn’t believe any of it. We were reading “The Case for Christ” and it was a book that was supposed to give the unbelieving some hard evidence of Christ’s life and Christianity in general and I found it so ridiculous that I just knew it was all fake.

When I met my husband, I finally let out a sign of relief. We was and is just like me – never believed the big man in the sky thing. He was raised very relaxed Lutheran by his parents and tried really hard in college to be a good Christian but finally told himself that he was lying to himself. Together, we’ve looked at many different religions, but we feel Pagan speaks the clearest to us. After a few months of dating my husband (a few years before we married) I felt strong enough to tell my parents that I didn’t believe in God. My mom was brokenhearted and it took her several days before she could speak with me again. I’ve always wondered if my dad actually believes it all or if he just does it all to please my mom (he loves her to death), but he seemed unphased when I told them.

So, my husband and I together make up our happy little Pagan family and I look forward to when we add a couple little ones to the mix.

I’m a wise woman at heart (though, how wise can one 24 year old be?) and am always learning. I love to learn about the body, ways of healing, nutrition, nature, and anthropology. I’m currently learning about crystal healing, tarot, traditional nutrition, and body work. In the future I hope to receive further education in nutrition, massage therapy, body work, herbalism, energy work, and perhaps even midwifery!

I consider myself an Eclectic Domestic Pagan Witch… phew, what a mouthful. I don’t know WHAT I am, but I do know that I pull what I like from all sources and I’ve mish-mashed that into something that is ME. I don’t consider myself a god/goddess worshiper, I really only feel called to worship the earth, the universe, the energy that is all. I love the energy in a happy home and that is what I base my daily practice on.

With our up-coming move pending, I feel NOW is a great time to put my life into full swing! Who do I want to be? I’m on the cusp of something huge, a perfect time to start fresh – a clean slate.

And I know what I want. I want to be this person I’ve been dreaming of being for years, now. The loving wife and mother; the homemaker; the housewife; the housewitch. Pulling from my love of nature and earthly energies and putting those things into my home to make it a lovely place to be. I believe that the greatest job on earth is that of the homemaker.

So, that is who I am in a nutshell. That is who I hope to become in a paragraph. These post will serve to show you who I will be.

Love each other,

Tina

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

